Request Info
Loading...
Reviews2018-10-09T15:32:15+00:00

WE LOVE OUR HAPPY CUSTOMERS

Reviews and Testimonials

Masterpiece Caterers is proud of the events and experiences we produce and manage for our customers.  We know how important these milestones are, and take great care to ensure nothing but perfection when it comes to managing your events.  See below for some of our happy customers.

Additionally, please visit us on the following outlets for more reviews and information.

TheKnot   Yelp  Wedding Wire

Masterpiece Caterers
Average rating:  
 45 reviews
by Seth and Sophie G on Masterpiece Caterers

We can't say enough great things about Kevin and his team at 1 Hanover Square. From the beginning of the process to planning the big day to day of, Kevin was there and made everything seamless! He was especially accommodating about making the entire menu to our dietary restrictions and wedding traditions before, during and after the ceremony. The food was delicious, the venue was stunning; it was everything we could have asked for and more!

by Abiluz P on Masterpiece Caterers

We were blown away with the level of care Kevin and his team showed throughout the entire process. Our every need was met and our expectations were surpassed. The venue is absolutely beautiful [elegant & intimate...timeless really]. The food is superb [quality and quantity - beginning with the drinks/snacks in the bride/groom suites and ending with the much raved about cookies and sweets that accompany the wedding cake]! It's been over a month and guests still mention the food and drinks (the rare cajun beef, seared tuna and arctic char are musts). The staff are helpful, kind and efficient. We had family come in from Spain [who spoke no English] and they made sure they had staff that spoke fluent Spanish - and went as far as to have the menu printed in both English and Spanish to make all of the guests feel welcome. This was very much appreciated. We would certainly recommend India House; if you decide to go with this venue you can rest assured that you will be in very capable hands. To those of you who are considering - take the plunge, and to those that have already decided - great choice!

by Lexi C on Masterpiece Caterers

We had our wedding at the India House in April 2018 and it was absolutely wonderful. The building itself is beautiful and a perfect setting for a New York wedding. Kevin was super easy to work with, extremely responsive and did a great job coordinating both before and during the wedding. He made sure that all the little details were perfect and was so attentive to us. He really worked with us to create the wedding we wanted - including allowing my husband to put together his own beer list. Kevin's team does a wonderful job from top to bottom. The food was absolutely delicious and earned rave reviews from our family and friends. Best of all, the prices are really reasonable, especially considering what an incredible value they're offering. I really can't recommend the India House enough!

by Kristina D on Masterpiece Caterers

My husband Grayson and I got married here in September 2017. Kevin was our main POC from the venue. He helped build out an amazing weekend for us and our family. Friday was a welcome dinner at India House. We did welcome cocktails in the downstairs Red Room. It was the perfect place for us to greet our guests and close enough for us to sneak away to their magical blue room bar to take photos of just the two of us. Our wedding was that Saturday at their other location, Elevated Acres and Dune Studios, just a few blocks away. We held the ceremony outside at Elevated Acres and danced the entire night away in Dune Studios. Kevin handled everything for us! Lighting, staging, rentals, floor plan and the food were all incredible. He was very responsive, professional and flexible with whatever task we gave him. We planned our wedding while living in San Francisco, so having Kevin on the ground was invaluable. He was trustworthy and reliable, therefore we knew the vendors he suggested were reputable. He handled all of our outside vendors including chalkboard artists, magician, balloon vendors and even our live doves vendor! I highly recommend hosting your wedding at India House, Elevated Acres and Dune Studios.

by Lily T on Masterpiece Caterers

My husband and I got married at India House, May 2018. We worked with Kevin Mattner through the whole planning process. He is the best! He and his staff are organized and professional. We received a bunch of compliments from our guests on the beautiful and classy venue to the large selection of food options. We’re so pleased on how our wedding day turned out and extremely happy with our decision to have had our wedding at India House. Thank you, Kevin and the team at Masterpiece Caterers!

by Janna C on Masterpiece Caterers

1 Hanover is amazing, Kevin is the best. I really wanted a non traditional Chinese wedding but had to add some traditions to the schedule due to family. Even up until the week of the wedding, I wasnt sure we would be able to pull it all off. Kevin made everything run smoothly, he is quick to reply to emails, even when he was away on vacation. This was really a great venue, good food, my guest had fun and it all went off without a hiccup. I cant wait to come back for our one year anniversary dinner. Thank you Kevin!!!

by Maria D on Masterpiece Caterers

I cannot say enough glowing things about Kevin Mattner and his team at India House. They go out of their way to be friendly and accommodating, and are all extremely professional. My husband and I are still in total awe over how absolutely perfect our wedding was. It beat all of out expectations, and that is largely thanks to Kevin and his team. They really do go out of their way to make your wedding everything you want it to be and more. I recommend this venue with zero hesitation. It is a complete gem in Lower Manhattan - especially if you're planning on a fall or winter wedding (that's when India House shines the most, in my opinion). You can't do better than India House in NYC!

by Ellen H on Masterpiece Caterers

We had a wonderful wedding at India House (or so I was told, since it went by so fast) thanks to Kevin and his team. I loved the historical house and how well everything was maintained. All the food was fantastic and there were so many rooms for the guests to hangout in. Kevin made sure all our concerns were addressed and accommodated us with our requests such as changing . He takes his job very seriously so there is no detail too little for him to handle.

by Cara F on Masterpiece Caterers

Kevin Mattner gave us the wedding of our dreams at Morningside Castle! 2 months later, my husband and I are still reeling about the day from start to finish. Kevin went above and beyond to accommodate our requests, listened to our desires, and executed the day exceeding our expectations. We hope to have the opportunity to work with Kevin again as he's truly a delight!

by Thomas K on Masterpiece Caterers

We were married on Sept. 9 2017. It was a magical experience. Kevin Mattner and the entire staff did an outstanding job. Each room at 1 Hanover Square is unique, and varies in how many people can be accommodated. Masterpiece caterers offered so many options (we went vegetarian) and the desserts and wedding cake were fabulous. You can not go wrong if you choose 1 Hanover square for your wedding.

by Robert L on Masterpiece Caterers

What a wonderful venue. Anyone can provide good food. What makes 1 Hanover Square / Masterpiece Caterers so wonderful is the overall package. For a traditional wedding, no venue can duplicate the history, the fireplaces, the antique fixtures and overall ambiance. Kevin, the General Manager was always available, very accommodating, and able to make last minute changes. His staff, from the Captain to the Bartenders and Waiters were very professional and proactive. Many of the staff are seasoned employees. We are still receiving rave reviews from our guests over the venue, food and service. The Food was OUTSTANDING! The cocktail party included butler service with mini lobster rolls, lollipop lamb chops, seared tuna canapés, potato pancakes with sour cream and smoked salmon and other finery. Stations included a pastrami and turkey carving board, a pasta station and others. The main courses included choices of bronzini, rack of lamb and others. The guests leaving were greeted with hot cookies, right out of the oven. For the out of town guests, our hotel was less than one block away, especially good for the older guests. The venue is handicap compliant, with elevators and bathrooms on all floors. I believe 1 Hanover has 11 rooms, we used most of them; ie: bridal suite, groom suite, meet with rabbi, signing marriage license, rehearsal for ceremony, grand foyer for guests to assemble, red room for ceremony, "trading pit" for cocktail party, Marine room for the grand reception, and another room for breakfast the next day. Kevin OVER delivered on service, food, and hospitality, For services provided the cost was very reasonable. We look forward to returning.

by Andrea W on Masterpiece Caterers

This review is a admittedly overdue, but my husband and I of nearly a year have had plenty of time to reflect on our first year of marriage and the incredible party and celebration with which we kicked it off! We chose India House while looking for a venue that felt like a classic and classy winter evening in Manhattan. We couldn't imagine ourselves in a hotel ballroom, a country club, or contrived Brooklyn "warehouse" over-decorated with mason jars. As soon as we stepped inside India House and met Kevin and Arlinda, we knew we found our venue. The space itself has the authenticity of old world New York without being stuffy. Kevin tastefully decorates and updates India House so it maintains timeless style. We were married in December, and the white lights, garlands, and soft candles gave our venue a romantic, warm ambiance. Perhaps most importantly though, Kevin and Arlinda and the rest of the staff are true professionals that ensured the evening was executed seamlessly. We utilized the entire venue, and they helped create a time table and flow to the evening that kept our guests moving throughout the building during different phases of the wedding. I really had nothing to worry about that day or night except enjoying myself and trying not to have my dress stepped on! Lastly, I can't write a review without mentioning the food. The meal was really important to my husband and me. We didn't want a dinner that was forgettable or served banquet salmon with asparagus. Our guests still rave about the food, right down to the spiked rootbeer floats for dessert. And maybe most amazingly, my husband and I actually had a chance to eat! Kevin set up time after the ceremony for us to sample all our hors devours and sip champagne in the privacy of our own room upstairs. We would recommend this venue a 100 times over. Thank you to the India House team for making our wedding a truly wonderful evening that reflected our tastes and style as a couple!

by An V on Masterpiece Caterers

We worked with Kevin at Masterpiece Caterers for our wedding at the India House/1 Hanover Sq, and he is amazing. He is communicative & prompt, and tries to be as accommodating as possible. Trust him & the rest of the staff at Masterpiece Caterers to make your wedding day go as well as possible. 1 Hanover Square was the perfect venue for what we envisioned, and it felt personal to us in a way. It is a beautiful and unique historical building filled with art work and vintage touches. One of our guests remarked that the venue is so beautiful, she felt tempted to just walk around the different floors and admire it. We were the only wedding booked that day (Sunday afternoon wedding) and had free reign of the floors. Masterpiece Caterers is a very professional business - it seems to me they have a full-time staff, in contrast to other venues/caterers who hire temps to work events. The difference in service is stark. I've been to many weddings before having my own and saw a lot of bad staff behavior - young, uninterested servers at cocktail stations; a venue valet who stole from our car; caterers who threatened not to serve guests unless they got tips upfront. This made me very apprehensive about my own wedding day, but the staff at Masterpiece Caterers went above & beyond. There was a woman named Sandra who helped fluff my train & veil before I walked the aisle - she saw me shaking from nerves & was super sweet, reassuring me that everything would be okay. We were overwhelmed with gift boxes & envelopes from our tea ceremony, and the staff made sure to pack everything neatly away for us to take home at the conclusion of our wedding. In fact, they had a chance to steal an envelope with $50 in it that we forgot on a serving cart, but they actually kept it safe by packing it with our gift boxes! Very very pleased. The food was delicious, and I love that they work with Financier Patisserie for the wedding cake. We chose something different, a passion fruit flavor, and were worried about how it would go over with guests. They loved it as much as we did! I didn't get to finish my dinner (do the bride & groom ever?) but I made sure to eat my slice of cake. I surveyed a good amount of guests after the wedding and they all raved about the food & service. One guest described the service as very classy. We're really happy to have had our wedding with Masterpiece Caterers & 1 Hanover Square.

by Barbara S on Masterpiece Caterers

Wedding of Dorothy and James at The India House, October 21, 2017 Thanks to Kevin Mattner, who managed everything, and his excellent staff, Dorothy and James had the wedding of their dreams! As parents of the bride we couldn't be happier! The professional help and guidance Kevin patiently provided for us regarding every decision we needed to make was invaluable and spot on! The food was amazing and the entire staff did an outstanding job, providing impeccable service throughout the entire evening! We have heard from many of our guests and the compliments have been effusive. So many people said that this was the best wedding they had ever been to! Consistently mentioned, was the beauty of the venue, the great food, and the attentive staff. We want to thank The India House for making Dorothy and James's wedding such a beautiful celebration. The day was perfect from start to finish! It was a wonderful confluence of outstanding professional management on the part of Kevin; a very attentive, friendly and competent staff; fabulous food and a gorgeous venue. Thanks to all at the The India House, we will have memories to cherish for a lifetime!

by Jyoti E on Masterpiece Caterers

THIS PLACE IS THE BEST!!! You cannot go wrong. I couldn't have dreamt a better wedding. The service, food, decor, ambiance, and the attention you get from India House (1 Hanover Sq) is unparalleled. My friends and family were blown away. Everyone was so impressed and said this was the best wedding they have attended. And I really give India House the credit for this. Their service for flawless. And the venue captures the energy, elegance and class of a NYC wedding. And I can't say enough good things about Adam Hartofilis (Director of Catering at India House). He is a perfectionist. Trust me when I say he cares more about your wedding than even you do. And he really does fulfill all your wishes. Adam is AWESOME. Trust your wedding plans to Adam and you will be amazed. Thank you so much to everybody at India House, especially Adam.

by Leda Z on Masterpiece Caterers

It's like being inside a champagne flute!" That is a quote from one of our guests at our wedding a year ago. Our memories of that day are still as clear as they could be. Kevin Mattner was our contact and he guided us through the entire process, carefully articulating our options as we began planning and through to the end as he was there to guide me the way to walk down the aisle. We couldn't be happier with India House and Masterpiece Caterers and we want everyone to get married there! Kevin and his staff made sure that we were attended to in every respect. I had done my own centerpieces and they arranged them beautifully in the room, on the tables and fireplace mantle, along with wedding photographs of our parents and grandparents that they artfully displayed. And speaking of fireplaces, Kevin had told us that if the temperature was right, that they would light fires in both the ceremony and reception spaces (at no extra cost), something that I thought would lend a lovely coziness to the event. We got lucky, and on October 9 the temps dipped into the 50s so we had a lovely fire during our ceremony in the Red Room and also a floor above for our reception. There was nothing quite like hearing the sparks of the burning logs while we recited our vows. We decided to do food stations for dinner, rather than asking our guests to sit down for a meal. Everyone loved the fried chicken and waffles, mac and cheese, suckling pig and other delectable foods to choose from. Kevin made it a point that no one would go hungry and even supplemented our wedding cake with additional scrumptious desserts. As a New Yorker bride on a budget, I didn't think I could ever afford such extravagance, but Kevin worked within our constraints and the results were perfection. After our ceremony Kevin led us to a beautiful, private spot along the East River where our photographer took some amazing shots of us with a pink sky and Manhattan bridges in the background. If you love old New York, simply take a walk around India House and Stone Street to soak in that atmosphere of history, original architecture and cobble stoned streets. We have so many wonderful photos taken outdoors, as well as inside the beautiful stairwells and rooms of India House. Just writing this makes me wish I had a time machine to relive the day. Our advice to all New York City brides and grooms - get married at India House!

by Jennifer R on Masterpiece Caterers

We planned our wedding in about 2 months and we were so fortunate that the India House was available on a Saturday night in July. We had about 120 people and started the night with a glass of champagne at the entrance in the blue room and we moved up to the Hanover Room for the cocktail party and to the Marine Room for the reception. Adam was so responsive to all of my specific requests (and I'm not that easy) and he worked so hard to make this day perfect. Two months after the event, my husband and I are still getting tons of compliments about how incredible our wedding day was. We danced for the entire night and a bunch of our guests told us it was the best wedding they had ever been to! Thank you Adam and the entire staff of India House. I could not recommend India House more highly!!

by Anna S on Masterpiece Caterers

Not sure if words could describe how happy we were with India House as our wedding venue. It's stunning on it's own and with the food and service and overall attention to detail it really made our wedding so special. Adam & Kevin put with our million emails and questions, helped us with everything along the way and felt like family at the end of it. We loved everything about our experience!!

by Ildiko C on Masterpiece Caterers

My husband wanted to get married at the IH from the very beginning we spoke about marriage. He had been at the iconic Blue Bar and he fell in love with the venue. Given our small guest count I believe we made the best choice! We had our intimate ceremony and wedding in the Hanover Room which is the space with the red walls. Kevin and the team was very responsive to all our questions and requests. I work in the fashion industry and I am very detail oriented person. The venue is very classy and beautiful but I wanted to bring in extra decor to make it ours for the wedding. Kevin and the team was very accommodating and helped me execute perfectly the vision I had for my dream wedding! Thank you so much!

by Jennifer L on Masterpiece Caterers

Where do I even begin- Masterpiece caterers was an absolutely dream to work with! Drana and Adam will fabulous and the venue is so beautiful. The food was simply outstanding and everyone is still raving several weeks after. I highly recommend India House! LOVE!

by Russ P on Masterpiece Caterers

My wife and I were married on August 26th at India House in New York, NY, and the event was hosted and choreographed by Masterpiece Caterers. India House exuded quality, excellence, and class. The décor was a fantastic blend of nautical memorabilia and antiques interspersed with architectural elements that made for a wonderful setting. Our wedding ceremony took place on the first floor, followed by a cocktail reception and then dinner and dancing on the second floor giving us the feel of being able to utilize a very large space. Views were magnificent from all vantages. The food was amazing, and more than a month later, we are still craving the delectable delights from our special evening. One would be remiss not to give attention and gratitude to the staff. They were everywhere - a tighter staff to patron ratio than one finds teacher to student in schools. The staff became immediate family, and our wedding involved a fair number of children who stayed up way too late. The staff were attentive to all of their needs ranging from off menu items to please youthful palates and extras on desserts. One cannot overstate the importance of enthusiastic and motivated staff in making one's wedding exemplary. Finally, we would be completely remiss without recognizing Kevin Mattner, who is clearly the heart, soul, spine, and foundation of Masterpiece Caterers. For months, Kevin took us through every step from beginning to end, from every tasting, to every referral, to suggestions we had never considered, he made our evening a success way beyond our dreams. His attention to detail and his patience when there is so much happening is clearly a testament to his decades in the business and experience pulling off the best year after year. Kevin is indeed a maestro who conducts a world class orchestra at Masterpiece Caterers. Thank you for a wonderful, wonderful experience

by Sarah B on Masterpiece Caterers

My husband and I got married at India House in January 2017 and would wholeheartedly recommend the experience to anyone looking for a quintessentially New York wedding. I think the venue is a particularly good choice for fall, winter and early spring weddings for several reasons. First, the building itself is gorgeous. The day of our wedding we were surprised with a sudden snowstorm that meant we couldn’t take any photos on nearby Stone Street, as we had previously planned. It didn’t matter, however, and we didn’t regret the lack of outdoor space for a second. Each room in India House is amazingly decorated with deep rich colors, interesting paintings and period details. The staff had fires lit in every fireplace and there were candles everywhere. Our photographers were able to get so many great shots without leaving the venue, and our photos are really unique and memorable as a result. We also had an amazing florist, but honestly did not have to do much to make the rooms beautiful. The space was cozy, lively and elegant, and really helped to set a special tone. I’ve since had several guests tell me how magical the venue was for a winter evening wedding. Second, the staff at India House are pros. We worked with Arlinda, and she was consistently cheerful and responsive. At our tasting, she and Kevin worked with us to make some much appreciated tweaks to the menu and helped brainstorm ideas for a late-night snack option. Perhaps most importantly, Arlinda just gets things done. Even better, she doesn’t have to be chased or reminded (something I found myself doing with some of our other vendors in the last few weeks leading up to the wedding) – instead, I felt like I was in great hands all the way through the wedding prep and on the day itself. Finally, I think India House is great value for money, particularly in New York (and even more so if you are getting married in the off-season). The catering and event spaces are phenomenal, and we were able to have access to the venue the night before and the entire day of the wedding for a rehearsal and prep. The staff was flexible and worked within our budget to modify some of the standard offerings. The operations team provide valuable day-of coordination services, meaning you won’t need to hire a separate coordinator or planner if you choose not to. All in all, this place is a true gem, and more than capable of delivering the kind of classic New York wedding that feels like it’s out of a film. We would absolutely encourage anyone looking for a wedding venue to consider it!

by Annie C on Masterpiece Caterers

If you are looking for a classic NYC wedding that won't break your budget but still feels like a million dollars, book 1 Hanover Square. All the reviews are accurate - this place is the dream. From the setting itself - a 1835 building designed after an Italian Mansion that is cloaked in history - to the first-class staff, the 5-star food and top-notch service, our wedding was beyond exceptional. It was all I could've hoped for - and more. From day one, we felt we were in good hands. Kevin Mattner was accommodating, organized, on top of every detail and personable. Plus, he provided excellent suggestions on decor and recommendations for how to structure the night of the wedding. Working with him was effortless and stress-free -- especially the day of the wedding! I attribute the success of our event to him and his attentive staff. Aside from the staff, the food is amazing. From the abundant cocktail hour - with all the appetizers, crudite and the Streets of New Your food station - to the three-course dinner that was out-of-this-world to the outstanding wedding cake, I still can't believe we received this kind of quality at our very own wedding! This is something I'd expect from the best restaurants in NYC. Needless to say, we'll be visiting the Blue Bar there often. Finally, the price is very affordable. It's amazing everything you get with this venue. Between the outstanding food and drinks, A-list service and being able to entertain our guests throughout the historic NYC building (we had our ceremony on the first floor, cocktail hour on the second floor and reception on the third floor), I'm sure people think we spent much more than we did. Our guests keep telling us this is the best wedding they have been to and to me, that's the ultimate testament to this venue. It's a special place. If there was one thing I did right for our special day, it was to chose Masterpiece Caterers at 1 Hanover Square. I want to re-live that night for the rest of my life!

by Dana C on Masterpiece Caterers

There are no words good enough to describe the experience we had for our wedding day here at India House. If you are looking to have a wedding that is a combination of ELEGANCE, CLASS and FUN, then look no further. Kevin Mattner was absolutely outstanding in helping us plan all the details. His exemplary experience, advice and insight helped us navigate what could be a very confusing and overwhelming process. Besides coordinating everything at the venue, he helped us find vendors that met our needs and cross off other details on our list. Everything tied together perfectly, from the ceremony, to the cocktail hour, to the reception. The entire day flowed seamlessly without one small problem. I don't know what I would've done without Jonathan the day of the wedding. He directed the entire day so perfectly and helped me stay calm, relaxed, and able to enjoy the entire day. After our wedding, all of our guests commented that the food was the most delicious food that they've ever had at any wedding. It's now been almost 3 months since our wedding, and all of our friends and family are still talking about what a beautiful wedding it was. Weddings can typically be a very stressful time, but all of that stress was alleviated knowing that the staff at India House possessed the confidence and grace to make our day perfect. Saying Thank You cannot fully grasp the appreciation that my husband and I have for Kevin, Jonathan and the entire staff at India House, but from the bottom of our hearts, Thank you, Thank you, Thank you for making the wedding of our dreams possible!

by Marilyn B on Masterpiece Caterers

There are no words to express our gratitude to Arlinda B, catering manager, and the unbelievable staff at India House for making our daughter's wedding June 17th a truly magical moment. Marissa and Kostas fell in love with India House and it was the perfect venue for their NY inspired Art Deco wedding. Our guests are still raving about the India House experience! I say experience because it is rare that a wedding venue delivers amazingly delicious food, exceptional service, exquisite decor and staff dedicated and committed to making your wedding exceed your dreams. Arlinda is amazing! She was always there to answer questions or to offer suggestions thru the entire process. Her calm, professional demeanor was welcoming to this mother of the bride who found herself making last minute changes. If you want you and your guests to be treated like royalty go to India House so you too can hear everyone say "it was the best wedding I have ever been to!

by Vernon B on Masterpiece Caterers

I will start with absolutely fabulous. I walked into the wedding planning process resigned to the idea that that most food options would be bland, boring or identical to offerings I have already seen at other weddings. I quickly discovered I was wrong after meeting with Arlinda and the team at Masterpiece. Their menu and presentation were instant standouts and after a delicious tasting the choice to hire them became a no-brainer. On the day of the wedding, staff was on time and professional. One of my only regrets from the evening was not taking more time to enjoy the food! I am convinced the reception would not have been as well-received by our guests if not for Masterpiece's hard work. I would gladly hire them again for another event!

by Marissa B on Masterpiece Caterers

Perfection! I cannot begin to tell you how blessed I feel too have been married at India House on June 17. The catering manager Arlinda B., was a DREAM to work with. The venue is so unique, so beautiful and rich in history. It is rare that you find a Manhattan venue at an excellent price point that exceeds your expectations! We had three floor and complete use of the venue! Arlinda and the staff at India House worked tirelessly to ensure that our blended Italian-Greek wedding was customized and executed to perfection. Our guests are raving about our wedding... from the delicious cocktail hour, excellent dinner, to our beautiful wedding cake... India house made our dream come true!

by Maureen M on Masterpiece Caterers

I cannot say enough great things about India House and, most importantly, Kevin, the manager. We got married here in the end of April. So many of our guests came up to me after the wedding, spontaneously RAVING about the site and also, most importantly, the food. This place is a GEM on all levels. The building itself is in a great location and the inside is really stunning. It is the opposite of a "wedding factory". Also, it is fully handicap accessible which made a huge difference for me (you would be surprised at how many venues aren't). And Kevin (and his staff) are truly everything a bride wishes for on her wedding day. There is no need to hire a separate wedding planner because Kevin is on-site and 100% attentive. He responds almost immediately to all emails and is just one of the most professional, yet warm, people I met in this wedding planning process. One last thing that I loved: India House is NOT out to "nickel and dime" you. The prices are quoted with tax included, and there are many "extras" that are included (like votive candles, for example). Please don't look any further and book the India House!!

by Liza B on Masterpiece Caterers

We got married at India House on May 20. Needless to say it was the most important and magical evening of our lives. All this would not have been possible if not for Kevin Mattner. We have a pretty unique story with Masterpiece Caterers in that we booked it a year in advance. After seeing the beautiful space, we looked at a couple of others and knew in our hearts this was THE ONE. It felt right and it suited all our needs plus the price was just perfect. We met with a wonderful lady who was going to be our coordinator/manager. She left the company and we were transferred to another person. When that didn't work out, we spoke to Kevin and he immediately made us feel at ease and handled our account from that point forward. He is undoubtedly the most professional, amazing, competent person. He knows his job inside out and he really cares about the happiness of his clients. To him, there is no event or wedding too big or too small. Each one must be treated the same and we certainly felt that way. We had our ceremony in the Hanover Room and the entire 2nd floor to ourselves for cocktail hour, dinner and dancing. Everything looked so beautiful and went smoothly. As a bride who works in events, I was very concerned about everything but Kevin handled it all with ease! All our guests raved about the food and the abundance of it. Everything I imagined turned out better than I expected. Everything flowed smoothly. We had a little hiccup with one of our vendors on the night of the wedding but Kevin dealt with it and literally made a miracle happen. He is always responsive to emails and phone calls and he literally alleviated a lot of worries from an already stressed-out bride. We cannot say enough great things about this space, the staff, Kevin, the food and drinks. They will always hold a special place in our hearts and we cannot thank Kevin and Masterpiece Caterers enough for all that they did to make our wedding as beautiful as it was!

by Elisa S on Masterpiece Caterers

We had our May 28 wedding at India House and couldn't have been happier with the wedding. Planning a wedding can be a hectic process -- Kevin was incredibly responsive and helpful. We couldn't have been happier with the gorgeous wedding venue and the entire feel of the evening. Thank you!R

by Nadezhda A on Masterpiece Caterers

There are so many great reviews already for India House, but I'll add another. Book it now! I organized a fundraising event here a few years ago, so when we got engaged I knew the place - convenient location, beautiful surroundings, warm service, great food - all at a surprisingly reasonable price for a Manhattan venue. We got married here on a Friday evening last month - perfect location since most of our guests work in Manhattan (out-of-towners stayed at the charming Wall Street Inn just across the street, as did we.) Our ceremony was in the Hanover Room on the first floor, and the reception with food stations and various seating (tall boy and seated tables) was on the second floor. The historic interior is so lovely, we barely had to think about decor. We got the one sunny day that week and were able to take fabulous photos on Stone Street, Old Slip, and Hanover Square. Staff was warm and welcoming, and took the time to help us find the right oysters and great wine for the reception. They were also very accommodating to my husband's and guests' gluten allergy. It was all so convenient - we could drop things off early and could leave gifts, etc. overnight. India House and its staff made for an amazingly easy, reasonably price, absolutely beautiful wedding.

by Pamela W on Masterpiece Caterers

My husband and I still have family members calling to rave about The India House, both as a venue and caterer! Thank you to Arlinda and the whole team for making our day so special.

by Timothy H on Masterpiece Caterers

My wife and I cannot recommend India House enough! We got married at India House on December 4th. The staff was attentive, helpful, and very well organized. The venue is awesome. The food was delicious! They made us feel at ease which allowed us to focus on each other and our guests. Everyone had a great time and I've even had some people tell me it was the best wedding they'd ever been to! It was worth every penny. Thank you Arlinda, Masterpiece Caterers, and India House!

by Sami H on Masterpiece Caterers

We got married April 1 at the India House and I am really going to gush right now about how wonderful the entire experience was. First of all, what a beautiful unique venue! Theres a great history behind the building, and it's in such a cool neighborhood right off Stone Street and a few blocks down from Wall St. People loved the location, and the pictures in the neighborhood and in the venue look outstanding. Exactly what we wanted from our NYC wedding. The Andaz hotel down the street was excellent in terms of location, price, and the rooms themselves. Also, there are some great bar spots to keep the party going afterwards right on the same street. The service was INCREDIBLE. The entire staff treated us like royalty but I have to particularly call out Kevin Mattner and Jonathan Nieves for going above and beyond from our first tour of the building, through the tasting, the planning stages, the rehearsal, and the wedding itself. They bent over backwards whether it was specially catering the menu to our needs, making sure the bar was stocked with what we wanted, making sure our families were taken care of, or anything else we could have needed. The food was outstanding! No tasting menu bait and switch, no microwaved hors d'ouvres, no bland potatoes and vegetables. We ended up going with the rack of lamb and seared arctic char for our dinner entrees and I can't suggest both enough. The entire menu was outstanding, and Kevin's willingness to work with you on what you want for your cocktail hour or dinner menu really demonstrates his and his staff's desire to deliver the perfect wedding. I also want to take a second to point out how much I appreciated their all-in-one pricing structure. So many NYC venues sneak in administrative fees, venue fees, make you bring certain items in from outside, and can really blow your budget out of the water. India House gave us a figure per head and a minimum head count. There was never any weird wedding math, or crazy calculations or secret fees. We were always able to stay on top of costs because of this, and that goes a long way. Again, can't stress how wonderful they made our entire experience. The place is beautiful, and they're always working to make it better. They made everything as easy as could be and I hope I get to use them again for future life events.

by Mia R on Masterpiece Caterers

I got married this weekend at India House-- what an amazing experience! Throughout the entire planning process and til the end of our after party at 2am, India House staff provided exceptional service. Food quality is really important to both my family and my husband's family-- and you will eat nothing but the best at India House! We got rave reviews from our family and friends about the food selections all night, and even in emails after the wedding was over! The location is gorgeous-- we used the entire venue and had a progressive event with the ceremony on the first floor, cocktail hour on the second floor, reception on the third floor and after party back on the first floor. People loved moving through the old mansion and seeing the beautiful artwork on the walls throughout the night. The entire staff at India House is so warm, inviting and attentive, and we could not have pulled off such a seamless and amazing wedding without the support of Arlinda, our Catering Manager and Jonathan, our Operations Manager. They went above and beyond to make sure all of our requests were incorporated into the event and that all of our guests-- from our parents to our friends to our little flower girls, had a blast! A wedding at India House is an experience of a lifetime - I highly recommend the venue - you are in great hands!

by Julian C on Masterpiece Caterers

My wife and I recently celebrated our new marriage at the India House and the experience was amazing: impeccable management, wonderful character, amazing food and drink all made for a very memorable evening. The guests loved the India House and its unique character as a historical building in lower Manhattan. The usage of both floors in the space, with the upper consisting of three rooms, offered much to experience for our guests and ourselves. We had a live band that performed very comfortably upstairs while permitting those not wanting to be in the immediate presence of the music to chat in another room. The staff at India House is top class and really made the whole experience a breeze for us as rather stressed newlyweds! Cannot recommend this unique, welcoming venue enough!

by Kathi P on Masterpiece Caterers

My daughter and son-in-law got married at City Hall in January, and in April we had a celebration at India House. Our planning was rushed, and we were so lucky to discover this elegant, historic and unique venue. The surroundings were lovely -- our guests commented that they felt like they were in a gracious home, not a catering hall. We didn't have a formal sit-down dinner, but food stations throughout the second floor rooms with different sized tables - large, cocktail and high tops. This encouraged mingling. Kevin, the Event Manager, could not have been more helpful throughout the planning. He was happy to accommodate our requests, enthusiastic about our unusual-style event, re-jiggered the floor plan multiple times as we moved the location of the band and the tables. He had great suggestions, always responded quickly, and bent over backward to make us happy. And he gave us a wonderful price, even including an extra-special food station of our choice. I never imagined that we could have afforded such a sophisticated venue in Manhattan, but the price was right. It was the menu that really sold us, though, definitely not typical wedding food. We had fun and interesting choices -- an Asian station, Mediterranean station and comfort food -- a perfect blend that reflected the diversity of NYC cuisine. Our guests loved sampling different dishes, all delicious. At Kevin's suggestion, we had a late-night station -- NYC street food including hot dogs, pizza, pretzels, and more. This was a giant hit with our guests. And the wedding cake from Financier was scrumptious. I'm still getting phone calls and emails from friends and family telling me what a good time they had and how impressed they were with the food and the surroundings. "Best wedding I've ever been to" is a typical comment. I only wish I had another daughter, so I could do it all over again at India House!

by Katie M on Masterpiece Caterers

We could not have asked for a better experience with a wedding venue than we got at India House. We worked with Kevin throughout the process. From the first inquiry, communication was professional, polite, and prompt. We were kept informed of details along the way and reminded of deadlines as they were approaching. We always felt taken care of and reassured. We arranged to drop off our decorations and have the wedding rehearsal in the space the night before and everything went smoothly. Jonathan was our day-of coordinator, and he was friendly, energetic, and calm. The space is incredibly beautiful and the level of service and hospitality is unparalleled. I would be very skeptical of finding another venue whose staff went to such far lengths to make us feel happy, comfortable, and relaxed all day and all evening. We got a lot of compliments on the delicious food as well, and the cake provided by their neighbor, Financier. I would highly recommend India House as a wedding venue, you will not be disappointed.

by Mariam M on Masterpiece Caterers

My wife found India House after a search through the jungle that is the wedding scene on the internet. I was skeptical beforehand as I thought the cost would be way out of our budget, or the service would be scaled back to meet cost constraints. Nevertheless we inquired about seeing the venue on our way back from the Poconos after looking at rustic wedding venues to of save a buck. We left a voicemail early Sunday afternoon, and got a callback 5 minutes later from Kevin Mattner (aka "The Sweetest Man on Earth"). We asked The Sweetest Man on Earth (TMSE) if we could stop by shortly from when he called, he answered with his rally cry, "Sure." When we arrived, I was taken back with the old New York high society vibe throughout its decor, and my heart was attached to the merchant ship paintings, and the hardwood floors made each step you take feel as if someone important was coming through. After seeing the three floors, each unique with its own aesthetic design, TMSE described how they utilize each area - 1st floor for ceremony, 2nd floor for cocktail hour, 3rd floor for dining and dancing... I loved the idea so much that I began preparing myself for the let down of affordability. After the tour, TSME discussed formalities. Here's where I was ready for the punch in the gut... but it never came. After he laid out initial options and pricing, we saw a glimmer of hope. TMSE told us he would come back with a proposal over email.... from there we achieved an agreement on a package that worked within our budget and delivered key items we wanted in our reception (btw, agreement ended with Kevin responding to our last request with "Sure"). From then on, TMSE was very accommodating with a moving guest list, tasting/menu options, receiving wedding day materials (pictures, flowers, etc...), and adding a cake after our local bakery wouldn't deliver into Manhattan. We held rehearsal the night before, and that's when we got the pleasure of meeting Jonathan - the Operations Manager. He introduced himself as someone who loves what he does (the truest thing anyone ever said). Jonathan coordinated the procession & recession that evening, and ensured we were in good hands. I asked TMSE if he is passing us off, and he responded with his 1st "No"... he insisted that he would be leading from a far and overseeing a variety of functions. Were left in great hands, as Jonathan executed our plans with a passion as if it was his own wedding. TMSE arranged the first look to be at a nearby atrium/plaza called Elevated Acre. When I learned the escalator was broken and knowing our parents would have trouble using the stairs, TMSE quickly arranged for access to the connected office building's elevator. The ceremony went off without a hitch. The reception was everything we wanted and more. Plenty of food and easy access to drinks. We had a cocktail reception format... I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS. It works great since it really fits with utilizing the multiple rooms of the 2nd floor. We had dessert and dancing on the 3rd floor for the last two hours... It felt like the best club in NYC for those 2 hours. To cap it off, TMSE let us stay a little over the finish time which really made the guests happy. If you are considering India House and if you are like us which was a couple looking for a fun and relaxed wedding to be enjoyed by all, then book a cocktail reception wedding at India House and tell TMSE that Andrew & Mariam send our regards.

by Erica H on Masterpiece Caterers

We were married a year ago so I am delayed in this just like many of the others, but it also says something that I am still thinking of how amazing the event was. The food was perfect, timing and temperature and of course taste was spot on! Kevin and the team made everything seamless . They were so cooperative with special requests with the set up, letting us stop by multiple times and have additional tasting when we had difficulty making up our minds. You can not beat the affordability of the event, especially considering the gorgeous and historic venue, delicious food and impressive service.

by Michelle O on Masterpiece Caterers

I was a wedding planner turned bride in 2016 and knew the only place where I would be in fully trusted hands was at India House with Masterpiece Caterers. I've worked with them before as a planner bringing other clients of mine to them and have always had a really wonderful experience. I have a great relationship with both Kevin and Gieto and knew that they would take very good care of my fiance and I for our wedding day. Well everything WAS beyond perfection from the ceremony to the cocktail style reception. Being a control freak I wanted to see the reception room before the guests did so we arrived a bit early, right after our first look, and with just one glance at the room I was brought to tears. Everything I had planned looked beyond what I'd imagined and Kevin had been there for me every single step of the way taking care of it all! One of the things we were complimented on the most was the food - our family and friends STILL talk about it! I have to say that Kevin is truly the best there is, he is a true professional who is passionate about what he does and will deliver nothing but the best and more! The whole team really outdid themselves and we couldn't have been any happier with things! Thank you Masterpiece Catering for the most perfect wedding day!!!

by Sabeen A on Masterpiece Caterers

The India House was fantastic! My review is a little late in coming as we got married April 2016, but because it was such a special experience, better late than never. Special thanks to Jessica Oliva and Gieto who were both unbelievable in the level of service they provided along with attention to detail. Additionally, it's a gorgeous space and the food is great! My guests were all raving about it. All in all, great experience and we had a wonderful, seamless, and stress-free (well, as stress-free as a wedding can be!) event at the India House.

by Karen C on Masterpiece Caterers

India House is an amazing venue. Our wedding was a few weeks ago and it was amazing . Arlinda and her staff made sure every detail was perfect. My guests raved about the place. They loved the food , thought it was a beautiful place and that service was excellent. Everyone was very helpful and they set up all the personal decorations I provided for the chairs and tables. Arlinda and her staff made certain everything ran smoothly and they work hard to make sure every detail is perfect. The wedding was a dream come true and we could not have picked a better venue. Thank you for making our wedding a beautiful memory we will treasure always.

by Jen B on Masterpiece Caterers

Wow - Where do I begin? I am so happy that we chose India House for our wedding reception. From the moment we walked through the doors, we knew this was the unique space we wanted to celebrate in with family and friends! Aside from the beauty, location, and historical significance of India House, one of it's biggest selling points was Kevin Mattner. Kevin was reliable, understanding, and professional. I did not have any concerns going into the big day and that is all because of Kevin. India House is lucky to have him. Additionally, Alanna, our day of coordinator, was a HUGE help. Whenever I needed anything, she was there. I cannot say enough about India House and it's staff. I am eternally grateful for the day that they provided us. And we look forward to many more celebrations there in the future!!!

by Margarita N on Masterpiece Caterers

India House is a beautiful, historic, and overall different-looking venue than anywhere we had been to a wedding before. But, of course, anyone can find a beautiful, historic, different-looking venue -- it wouldn't matter if the people working there weren't at the top of their game. It makes us so happy to say that Masterpiece Caterers at India House are at the top of their game, and then some. We booked the venue a year prior to our wedding, and Kevin -- who runs MC -- worked with us every step of the way from putting the menu together to answering our questions about table arrangements and even the artwork present in the space. There was no matter too small or seemingly insignificant for Kevin -- he responded to us consistently, promptly, and always to our satisfaction. We never, ever felt nickel and dimed (which, again and again, was a warning we received from all of our married friends -- "the caterer will nickel and dime you") -- Kevin was always upfront about all costs and more often than not made changes and additions at no extra charge. On the day of, everything was exactly as promised, and anything we asked to change at the last minute was immediately taken care of. We never thought a wedding could be stress free, but Kevin and the amazing crew at Masterpiece Caterers do such a good job taking care of you that, truly, you get to just enjoy it. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Masterpiece Caterers for any event in the future, and if you choose them for your wedding you will not leave disappointed!